Goals — break em down

goalBuilding on a previous post on taking intention driven action, I have started to break down my long term goals into daily achievable “to-do” lists.

Here’s what I have picked up from this practice.

1. Limit the number of goals per day.

Currently, I use a notepad which is about 9cm X 9cm to list my goals.

As a working adult with a full time job, the time i have left to fulfill my goals on weekdays is very limited. So my WEEKDAY goals are limited to half that notepad. WEEKEND goals go onto the full notepad.

2. Remember to be SMART.

smart-goals

Make use of the SMART principle to set your daily goals. Goals have to be specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and time-bound.

“Read book X” is not specific enough. “Read X number of pages or chapters of book X” is.

For my daily goals, the dateline would be by the end of the day or before I hit the sack. If a goal/action was not done, I dont get to go to bed yet.

3. Celebrate

celebrate

Once you have cleared your “to-do” list for the day, create one for the next day. Then…CELEBRATE! Watch some TV, hangout with friends, surf facebook, play some games, do whatever you want to reward yourself!

Don’t be in a rush to get to tomorrow’s list. Learn to take breaks and reward yourself. I have found that this will help improve consistency and maintain your interest.

Have fun!

 If you have any additional tips to share, please leave a comment!:)

Spill your thoughts!

