decisions

decision-making

There are many paths that we can take in the journey of life.

Sometimes we get so caught up on the process of making decision, and end up suffering from “POA” (paralysis by over analysis). That’s when we end up stuck and not being able to move onto the new phrase of life that we were supposed to be looking forward.

There have been times when I have been through the POA phase too. Especially the past few months before I had to graduate. It seemed like such a hugh pivot point in life. I had images in my head where I had to make a decision on what I was going to do with the rest of my life after graduation OR ELSE…. I did not actually know what would happen in the “or else” scenario, but it seemed like the end of the world at that time.

I end up giving too much weight to the decisions I thought I had to make, so much so that I end up NOT enjoying the last few months of schooling. Honestly, I believe that  the days we spent in school, are some of the greatest memories we’d treasure.

At that time, I was pre-occupied with the fact that any decision I would make, would end up closing ALL other options that were previously available. And that single idea, was crippling to me.

My graduation day came and gone, and nothing much happened. The “hugh pivot point of life” turned out to only be a night of celebration and photo taking. The world didnt end, I have friends who are still undecided, me included.

Decisions are scary, especially when it is classified as a “major life decision”. If we know what we want in life, decisions become easier. If we dont, then remember not to be engulf by POA. Remember to enjoy the journey of life!:)

Spill your thoughts!

